Yangtze Delta river region (based in Shanghai)

Shanghai is the largest city by population in China and the largest city proper by population in the world. It is one of the four direct-controlled municipalities of China, with a total population of near 24 million as of 2013. It is a global financial center and a transport hub with the world’s busiest container port. Shanghai has a 700-year history and was once one of East Asia’s international financial centers.

In the last two decades Shanghai has been one of the fastest developing cities in the world with a total GDP over US$297 billion. The three largest service industries are financial services, retail, and real estate. According to the most recent comprehensive city development plans, by 2020 Shanghai will have essentially completed its transformation into a modern, international metropolis, as well as an international economic, trade, financial and shipping center.

The Yangtze Delta River region is represented by the Yangtze Delta river Creative Economy Cooperation Committee (CECC) in the DC-Network.


Lei Shen