Scotland is a part of the United Kingdom (UK) and occupies the northern third of Great Britain. Scotland’s mainland shares a border with England to the south. It is home to almost 800 small islands, including the northern isles of Shetland and Orkney, the Hebrides, Arran and Skye. Scotland hosts about 5.2 million in habitants and accounts for a GDP of 102 billion pounds.


Thomas Craig
Senior Policy Executive, Entrepreneurship Team
Scottish Government